top of page

Our goal

The aim of the Aix-en-Provence Law School's doctoral clinic on international human rights law is to promote and defend the values of justice and equality in international human rights law.

 

In order to achieve its aims, it carries out a range of activities, such as defending victims of human rights violations before international protection bodies:

 

  • the European Court of Human Rights

  • the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights

  • the Inter-American Court of Human Rights

  • African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

  • the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights

  • United Nations treaty committees

 

The Clinic participates in international trials before regional human rights courts as amicus curiae; training in the practice of international human rights law; and the promotion of scientific research in international human rights law, including the organization of seminars and conferences and the publication of reference books and articles.

Confidentiality and professionalism

All members of the Clinique are bound by a strict confidentiality clause with regard to all cases they handle, and in particular with regard to litigation cases or cases involving the development of a litigation strategy. They also undertake to respect the fundamental rules of ethics and deontology applicable to the exercise of their activities within the Clinic.

File selection
 

The Clinique is free to decide whether or not to take on cases submitted to it for advice, depending on availability, resources and the interest of the case in achieving its objectives. It does not act as a law firm, and in no way aims to replace the fundamental role played by lawyers in representing and defending victims. For this reason, litigation work is systematically supervised by a legal professional or a professional lawyer, within the framework of a clear and explicit partnership defining the roles of each, who draws on the Clinic's expertise in order to carry out litigation action.

bottom of page

top of page

Notre but

La Clinique doctorale de droit international des droits de l’homme de la Faculté de droit d’Aix-en-Provence a pour objet la promotion et la défense de valeurs relatives à la justice et à l’égalité en droit international des droits de l’homme.

 

En vue de réaliser son projet, elle exerce une série d’activités telles que la défense de victimes de violations de droits de l’homme devant les organes internationaux de protection:

  • la Cour européenne des droits de l’homme

  • la Commission interaméricaines des droits de l’homme

  • la Cour interaméricaines des droits de l’homme

  • la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples

  • la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples

  • les comités conventionnels des Nations Unies

 

La Clinique participe aux procès internationaux devant les cours régionales des droits de l’homme en tant qu’amicus curiae; la formation à la pratique du droit international des droits de l’homme; ainsi que la promotion de la recherche scientifique en droit international des droits de l’homme, y compris l’organisation de séminaires et de conférences et la publication d’ouvrages et d’articles de référence.

Confidentialité et professionnalisme


Tous les membres de la Clinique sont liés par une clause stricte de confidentialité sur l’ensemble des dossiers qu’ils traitent, et en particulier dans le cadre des dossiers contentieux ou liés à l’élaboration d’une stratégie contentieuse. Ils s’engagent par ailleurs à respecter les règles fondamentales d’éthique et de déontologie applicables à l’exercice de leurs activités au sein de la Clinique.

Sélection des dossiers

La Clinique est libre de s’engager ou non dans les dossiers qui lui sont soumis pour avis, en fonction des disponibilités, des ressources et de l’intérêt que représentent les dossiers pour la réalisation de ses objectifs. Elle n’officie pas en tant que cabinet d’avocats, et ne vise nullement à se substituer au rôle fondamental joué par les avocats dans la représentation et la défense des victimes. C’est pourquoi, le travail contentieux est systématiquement encadré par un professionnel du droit ou un avocat professionnel, dans le cadre d’un partenariat clair et explicite définissant les rôles de chacun, qui s’appuie sur l’expertise de la Clinique afin de mener une action contentieuse.
bottom of page